Everything is bigger in Texas

…Including the bug bites.

Deep Ellum’s Neato Bandito

Last night I enjoyed a 45-minute walk with some ladies, followed by a juicy lamb burger at Black Star Co-op and pint of Deep Ellum’s Neato Bandito. A delicious and satisfying evening all around.

This morning, I woke up with a robin’s egg-sized itchy, raised welt on my forearm. Four hours later, it’s grown in itchiness. I’d call it goose egg-sized now too. If it gets softball size, I’ll hit the urgent care clinic.

arm500x680I swear, there is something in the spit of these damn Texas bugs that makes me puff up like a balloon. And thisTexas  guide to diagnosing mysterious bites isn’t helping.

Swelling from mysterious nibbles isn’t new.  I have distinct memories of waking up in the twin bed in my grandmother’s house in Houston and counting 20 bug bites on myself before waking up Dad, who made a midnight Benadryl run.

From the time I was a little kid, I related perfectly to this Calvin & Hobbes strip:

Leave a Reply

