A Birthday Tradition

Sour Cream Chocolate Sheet Cake. Licking the frosting bowl was the best part!

Growing up we had a family tradition on birthdays: The birthday person could choose ANY cake they wanted, and someone else made it from scratch. The birthday person could supervise and direct, but remained strictly hands-off the actual baking.

For years I opted for my mom’s Sour Cream Chocolate Cake. I enjoyed a stint of Key Lime pies too (thanks sis!), and at least one Hummingbird Cake. I’m also fairly certain that my love of mint-chocolate everything started with a whopping slice of Grasshopper Pie  at a birthday dinner.

These days birthdays are more anticlimactic – fewer slip ‘n slide accidents, less rollerskating into walls, and I don’t require that anyone serve as the pastry chef. But the sentiments of love, support, friendship and merriment continue, and that’s what really matters on this, my special day. Also, Indian food for my birthday dinner!

3 thoughts on “A Birthday Tradition

Leave a Reply

