Embrace the Quirkmeister

Sometimes I feel like the quirky one; the person whose head is tilted to the side and whose glasses are a different hue. This can be a highly enjoyable, amusing perspective, but also an occasionally lonely one. Am I off my rocker? Am I the only one who found that ironic or funny?

I keep this quote nearby as a spirit lifter:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.
Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure…
We ask ourselves
Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be?
Your playing small
Does not serve the world
There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking
So that other people won’t feel insecure around you.
– Marianne Williamson

Or, to use more generational slang, “Let your freak flag fly:”

‘It is OK to let your freak flags fly and embrace the quirkmeister that’s inside of all of us. And I’m not even just talking artists, I’m talking every single person in this nation has the right to be themselves’— k.d. lang

2 thoughts on “Embrace the Quirkmeister

  1. I have to argue with the tail end of that quote. I don’t think most people want you to shrink, they just want themselves to feel more secure. And that can be a ridiculously confusing and hard process. I think if most people knew better, both emotionally and rationally, they would be horrified by their own shrink-wrap effect. If they knew in the fullest way of knowing, they’d be willing and able to work at building up, clarifying, freeing. Most people, I’m guessing, want the awesomeness of others to grow just as much as they want it for themselves. But I guess the gist is right. For everyone’s sake, don’t let yourself be shrink-wrapped. It’s suffocating and contagious and ultimately such a waste of freakin’ awesomeness. And the waste is the real horror.

  2. P. S. If that counts as trolling, my bad.

    Nice k. d. lang reference. She makes it sound sound so easy. But maybe there’s a nice prompt in that.

Leave a Reply

