Crustless Coconut Custard Pie

On Sunday at 3pm I was asked to bring a dessert to a dinner starting at 5pm. I didn’t want to go to the store AGAIN, or buy something when I knew my hosts were cooking from scratch. I scrounged around a few recipe books and came across this gem in “Amen, Let’s Eat!” I’d never made a custard pie before it but seemed reasonable enough.

Result? Total hit. Prep time is about 6 minutes and  bake time is 45-60 minutes. Between coats of nail polish I pulled it off without a hitch. It’s shockingly easy and more decadent than expected. Next time I might top it with a shake of powdered sugar.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups milk – I used a combo of whole milk and rice milk – what I had on hand
  • 4 eggs
  • 6 TBS butter, melted – I used 3 TBS butter and 3 TBS margarine – again, what was in the fridge
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1-1/2 to 2 cups flaked coconut, preferably unsweetened

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°.  Spray or butter a 9-inch wide pie pan.

2. Add all of the ingredients to a blender. Process on ‘liquefy’ for 15 seconds. Pour the mixture into the prepared pie pan. That’s it! One blender and one pan are all it takes to go from ho-hum wine bearer to “I’m the kind of dinner guest who brings over a homemade pie still warm from the oven. Boom.”

3. Bake the pie for 40 – 55 minutes, watching carefully after the first 40 minutes. The pie will puff up a bit and then fall slightly in the middle — totally normal. It’s done when a knife in the middle comes out clean and the edges are lightly browned. TIP: You don’t want to overcook or it’ll get rubbery and sulfur-ish smelling.

Remove the pie from the oven to cool. Serve warm or place in the refrigerator to chill. It’s even better cold the next day.

Leave a Reply

