I Could Eat My Weight In…

As I sat at the dining room table, licking hummus off a spoon and pondering for the millionth time what an AMAZING food hummus is, it got me thinking: what would I be willing to eat day in and day out without complaint? What would I say to fill in the blank, “I could eat my weight in _________.

In no particular order, but with a grumbling hungry tummy, I present a few of the great foods in my life:

  • Hummus. You saw this one coming. I eat it plain, on quinoa, on crackers, on vegetables, on pasta, on sandwiches, on salads. Heck, I’ve even been known to eat it off my finger. Flavor preferences: smoked paprika, roasted red pepper and classic all do it for me – just keep the kalamata olives away.
  • Stacy’s Multigrain Pita Chips. I can’t keep these in the house because I simply devour them. I stand in the kitchen, paw in bag, minimal energy exertion moving from bag to mouth, bag to mouth, bag to mouth – pause – chew – repeat. Sometimes their sharp corners pierce the roof of my mouth, and they do take a fair amount of chewing. But they’re baked, not fried!
  • Tostido’s Hint of Lime Chips. While watching “Mr. Smith Goes to Washington” at DC’s Screen on the Green, I once consumed an entire bag of these, alone. I felt ill and had little chemical or salt burns in the corners of my mouth. It was not sexy.
  • Goat Cheese. You know the jingle, “Once you pop, you can’t stop?” That’s me on goat cheese. Once I smear, the end is near. That log of chevrie is going down, and my guts are about to be very, very unhappy. I tested this out about 2 weeks ago. Yep, still lactose intolerant. Damn it.
  • Ghirardelli’s Double Chocolate Brownies. Clearly I’m mostly a savory girl, but these moist, chewy box mix brownies with little melty chunks of dark chocolate hold me hostage. The pan usually disappears while I tell myself, I just need to straighten that edge a bit. Boom. A whole ‘nother row (or line) down. I would post a picture of the actual brownie, but they never last long enough, and a photo couldn’t do it justice anyway.
  • Cherry Tomatoes. They burst in the mouth like a bite of warm sunshine. So easy to carry around and toss ’em back. Those little containers rarely last more than 2 days. (You can put them with hummus or goat cheese or pita, people!)

  • Fresh bread. Not just any crappy bread, but a warm, crusty loaf of Italian or focaccia, dipped in olive oil swirled with salt and pepper. I’ve made focaccia, and that garlic-salty-rosemary topping is unforgettable. Plus, you get to poke holes in the top of the dough with your fingers. Basically, I will hog the bread basket at dinner.

What would YOU eat your weight in? 

2 thoughts on “I Could Eat My Weight In…

Leave a Reply

