Social Stigma of Singleton

The quote that met me when I logged into Pinterest today:

Happiness is only real, when shared. ” – Jon Krakauer, Into the Wild

I enjoy many of Krakauer’s works and admire his writing style, but I have to disagree here. The quote seems to infer that no one can be truly happy alone, or even experience moments of happiness – in solitude. That’s a total load of crap.

Don’t get me wrong; I value sharing experiences and adventures and bliss with others. Last night I enjoyed a delectable and epic 5-hour, 5-course dinner with a group of friends that would never have happened if I was I dining alone. I absolutely need to be a part of a group and laugh and listen and learn from others.

But I also know that I draw energy from sitting in silence with a book, running a mountain trail in the snow, cooking and creating a beautiful plate, and savoring sunshine pouring through my window – while alone. (Do cats count?)

In the way the universe aligns sometimes, today Brain Pickings posted a great piece on living alone in modern society.

Today, for the first time in centuries, the majority of all American adults are single. The typical American will spend more of his or her adult life unmarried than married, and for much of this time he or she will live alone.”

One thought on “Social Stigma of Singleton

Leave a Reply

