Easy, Economical Peach Cobbler

Baking is a comfort activity for my mind and hands, and in the past few weeks I’ve needed some extra TLC.For a recent meetup with girlfriends, I decided to make a peach cobbler from scratch! I adapted my version from this Food Network recipe. The biggest change I made involved simplifying the peach process. For one, peaches aren’t in season here in the DC area. Two, those really ripe, juicy peaches can get pricey! Three, I don’t want to blanch peaches and then burn myself pulling off their hot skins. Solution: enter frozen and canned peaches.

Filling Ingredients:

  • 1 – 1.5 pound bag of frozen peaches
  • 1 large can of peach pieces, in light syrup (I don’t remember the size, and I bought generic. It was bigger than a 12.5 oz can – that’s all I’ve got)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 TBS flour

Crust Ingredients (even though it’s really a topping and not a bottom crust):

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter, cut into small pieces
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 2/3 cup nonfat plain greek yogurt (you can also use sour cream or buttermilk – I just have yogurt on hand more often)

DIRECTIONS
1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
2. Butter a 1 1/2-quart shallow baking dish. Place all the peaches in the dish and sprinkle them with brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, lemon juice and flour. Mix gently and spread evenly again. Bake for 10 minutes.
3. Meanwhile, combine all dry ingredients (plus lemon zest) for the crust in a bowl. Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or your fingers, to make the texture like coarse crumbs. Add the yogurt and stir to form a soft dough. I had some trouble incorporating all the dry ingredients and my end product was a little crumbly.
4. Remove the fruit from oven and drop rounded spoonfuls of dough on top. Rounded can be a very loose term. Return to oven. Bake until fruit is bubbly and crust topping is golden brown, about 17-20 minutes. When you remove it from the oven, the fruit and crust will sink in a bit. You can serve it plain, with ice cream, whipped cream, or regular cream. Note: If transporting this, I recommend placing a cookie sheet under it, as it’s juicy!

Between five women and one husband, we ate the ENTIRE pan. It’s not too sweet, not too rich, and it’s warm and comforting, best shared among friends.

Ta da! Finished, golden peach cobbler

Leave a Reply

