The Little Red Hen Meets Super Spartan

I’m in like Flynn. It’s on like Donkey Kong. Who rocks the house? This chick rocks the house. Are there Torros in the atmosphere?

Voted “Best Obstacle Race 2012” by Outside Magazine, I am now signed up for the  Mid-Atlantic Super Spartan Race, taking place August 25, 2012. As described in the literature:

The Super Spartan obstacle race provides an 8+ MILES / 20+ OBSTACLES battlefield of insane mud running with 15 or more obstacles to test your physical strength and mental resolve. This endurance race consists of mud runs, trails, and both mental and physical obstacles and challenges.”

I signed up for a personal trainer yesterday, to jumpstart me from the ease of cardio land into kick-butt conditioning mode. Every obstacle you fail on the course, you do a set number of burpees. And the Mid-Atlantic has 30 obstacles.

I invited some sporty spice friends who like adventures to join me, but no bites so far. And that’s fine. I’m taking a page from The Little Red Hen, “Then I’ll do it myself.”

Leave a Reply

