Curly Hair Rocks

I love my curly hair – 99% of the time, I wouldn’t change it for the world.

But you see, I didn’t always have curly hair. I don’t have baby pictures with golden ringlets and adorable bed head; I had stick-straight hair that had to practically be shellacked with hair spray to get a curling iron flip under to hold. Then came 6th grade (and puberty): BOOM. Waves, curls, horrible school pictures, neck burns from straightening irons, tangled round brushes. Combined with do-it-yourself Sun-In bleaching spray? Oh yeah, I looked fiiiiine.)  

One day I was getting a haircut and the stylist asked if I wore it straight or curly more. I sighed and commented on how I wanted it to be straight, but truthfully it was usually just lopsided wavy. He tilted his head and said, “You know, the more you wear it curly, the better it will look. Your hair will get used to being curly.” [Insert thunderbolt of brilliance]

I don’t fight the curls now; I embrace them and try to keep them happy and healthy. Sure, I sometimes get sleek hair envy, and come summer, the humidity makes me look like a poofy poodle. But then I think: “Hmm, that person with shiny tresses probably spent 30-45 minutes on her hair today. I, on the other hand, rolled out of bed, threw in some hair gel-creme, and spent all that extra time eating breakfast, petting my cat and drinking coffee.” 

 Lucky me!

Leave a Reply

