Urban Mindfulness

This week I started reading John Kaplan’s Urban Mindfulness – Cultivating Peace, Presence and Purpose in the Middle of it. Kaplan describes the book as:

A sample image from my Pinterest Nature board

“Inviting us to be here mindfully, paying attention to our thoughts, emotions, and sensory experiences as they arise from moment-to-moment.”

So far, so good! I’m thinking more about relaxing my shoulders, breathing, focusing on the feelings right now rather than projecting them into the future. I went to yoga on Monday night and love the mental and physical challenge it provides.

Another way I take a brief break from life is by visiting my Pinterest account. Specifically, when I’m feeling stressed I look at the boards I created for “Nature” and for “A Smile a Day.”

One thought on “Urban Mindfulness

  1. Love the relaxing the shoulders and breathing. Sounds like you are on a good path. I always like to relax the brain too; not necessarily quiet the mind, but relax the brain muscle, feel it release tension. Mmmmm, peace.

Leave a Reply

