Guest Post: Sandwich Spotlight

Guest post: Faux Fried Fish Sandwich

For some reason or another, making sandwiches is something that stimulates my creative side (and I’m not even sure I have a creative side). Maybe it’s the simplicity of them: bread, meat product, cheese, maybe veggies, and some delicious tangy (or spicy) condiment. The possible combinations of all these edible variables in endless, but I’m damn sure going to try to get to the end.

 
On a lazy saturday night I was hungry and feeling creative. The first selection for me is the meat product or base of the sandwich. While not technically a “meat” the cheap frozen whitefish in my freezer was my choice. Who doesn’t love a good fish fry? And why not put it on a sandwich? From there I went to work. Here are the ingredients for this simple creation (I really didn’t measure anything):
 
Sandwich
Some kind of whitefish (whiting, cod, etc.)
Bread crumbs (I’d go Panko but only had Italian)
1 Egg
1 tsp Pepper
1 tsp Old Bay seasoning
2 TBS Olive Oil
Bread of choice (I had wheat)
Cheese of choice (if desired, I threw on provolone)
 
Blue cheese dressing
Dijon mustard
Mayonnaise
 
Loose directions
Pre-heat the olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Coat the thawed and dried whitefish in the beaten egg, then coat with a mixture of bread crumbs, pepper, and Old Bay. Once coated drop in the pan with the olive oil. Cook about 3-4 minutes each side depending on thickness.
 
For the aioli/sauce, mix a desired mixture of the blue cheese, Dijon mustard, and mayo. I like things on the spicier side so I went heavier on the mustard. If you want tangy, maybe use more of the blue cheese or mayo.
 
Toast the bread lightly before adding the fish. Throw on a cheese if you want. Cover with desired amount of aioli/sauce/. Enjoy.
– posted by Bryan
 
 

One thought on “Guest Post: Sandwich Spotlight

Leave a Reply

