We Give Thanks Menu

It’s cool, you can be jealous of the awesomeness that is to be our Thanksgiving meal:

We Give Thanks Menu 

Organic, fresh (never frozen) wallop of a turkey from Arganica Farm 

Cranberry- Mango Sauce 

Broccoli-Cheese Casserole – Damis family recipe 

Barefoot Contessa Sausage Stuffing  

Garlic Cream Cheese Mashed Potatoes 

Roasted Brussel Sprouts with Lemon Aioli

Goat Cheese-Pesto-Sundried Tomato Torta  

Pumpkin Pie – Mama Wheatley style

Chocolate – Dipped Clementines 

Harvest Apple Crumb Pie – benefitting a good cause 

Foodwise, I think I’m most excited about the mashed potatoes, brussel sprouts and goat cheese torta. Well, and seeing a 20 pound turkey be successfully cooked – which is in the hands of the male in the house (no, not the cat, silly!). Okay, I really just love all the savory flavors that come together for Thanksgiving. And when else do I get to buy as much sage as I wnat?

Gastronomy aside, I’m feeling very happy about hosting my mom and big sister and sharing the apartment with the boyfriend this year. I haven’t seen my mom in about a year or my big sis since July. It’ll be a squeeze of people in the one-bedroom but with plenty of libations to enliven the mood. We all have our health, loves and jobs. Which is more than many.

As one of our activities – since I’ll be damned if we sit on our asses and lose our patience with each other as the only activity – we’ve all agreed to create a cocktail for the others to try. I’ll be shaking and pouring a gin-based aviation. I’m not a fan of Beefeater gin, though, and prefer Hedrick’s or Bombay. I thought about going all holiday spirit and trying one of these 12 Days of Holiday Cocktails. Then I noticed that they all involve something creamy, and this lactose intolerant lady isn’t down for that.

Cheers to food, friends and family!  

We Give Thanks Menu 11.21.11

Leave a Reply

