Motivation for the Gym

Every day at 4pm I just want to throw off my clothes and curl up in bed with a bowl of mac ‘n cheese, my fuzzy blue robe and an engrossing book.  Yet this this isn’t really an option – or at least a good option – in this world we call adult reality. So I’m going to the gym tonight after work. For real. I have a gym date with the boyfriend.  Here are a few things I’m using to motivate myself in these dark months (I’m never moving to Alaska, by the way):

1. Fitness Quotes

Nothing tastes as good as being skinny feels. 

If hunger is not the problem, then eating is not the solution. 

Fit is the new skinny.

Being lazy might feel good at the time, but being active feels better in the long run. How badly do you want it?

2. Pinterest Fitness Board: http://pinterest.com/penneysage/fitness-motivation/

3. Packing my gym bag and hauling it to work, knowing I have to either look at it forlornly before I leave or take it with me and use it.

4. Signing up for a class where my spot counts. I like spinning and it’s dark so who cares what I look like. But the slots are limited. I didn’t call early enough tonight. It’s gonna be Tabata instead. Bright lights, chipper people. But it only requires a 20 second attention span.

I can do this. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…

Leave a Reply

