Water Into Wine

The ‘creek’ that is usually part of my running route

Earthquake, hurricane and now a flood. What’s next? Locus and frogs? I swear, if I see lamb’s blood appear over people’s doors, I’m outta here. 

In the meantime, I’m sustaining myself with strong coffee and memories of sunshine.  And wine. Speaking of, a  few of my favorite beverages of late (in no particular order):
 
Red Rock, Malbec – I enjoyed this with spicy Indian and unlike some reds which intensify heat, this Malbec was mellow and easy to drink with a good balance. And by “good balance” I mean it wasn’t sour like baby grapes or dry like sucking on a piece of bark, nor hummingbird sweet. 
Little Black Dress, Merlot – This is not a fancy wine, and it goes great with appetizers like the recent pairing with hummus and veggies. Very affordable, and I can even overlook the overt marketing to women.
 
The Naked Grape, Pinot Grigio – I prefer white wines in summer, preferably an easy Pinot Grigio or Sauvingon Blanc. This bottle made me smile and relax. Sippable and not too thin or watery like some. I don’t remember what I drank this with, but I kept the cork, so it must have been good!
 
I’m off to refill the coffee mug.

Leave a Reply

